Military Districts.—For the command, training and administration of the Canadian Militia, Canada is divided into eleven Military Districts, each under a Commander, assisted by a District Staff.

Militia Appropriations.—Table 7 shows the militia vote for the fiscal years ending March 31, 1921, 1922, 1923 and 1924.

7.—Money Voted by Parliament for the Militia. for fiscal years ending March 31, 1921, 1922, 1923, 1924.

Items.	1921.	1922.	1923.	1924.
	\$	\$	\$	\$
Allowances, Active Militia	120,000	120,000	120,000	100,000
Annual Drill	1,500,000	1,500,000	1,000,000	1,050,000
Cadet Services	390,000	450,000	350,000	450,000
Clothing and Necessaries	60,000	264,346	340,400	300,000
Contingencies		40,000	40,000	25,000
Customs Dues	50,000	40,000	25,000	12,000
Departmental Library	1,000	2,000	2,000	2.000
Dominion Arsenal, Lindsay		243,300	25,000	9.000
Dominion Arsenal, Quebec	532,512	428,300	375,000	390,000
Engineer Services	705,000	600,000	560,000	560,000
Grants to Associations	105,000	125,000	100,000	100,000
Maintenance	200,000	200,000	235,000	250,000
Ordnance Arms, Lands	100,000	75,000	66,000	66,000
Pay of Staff	345,600	265,000	255,000	255,000
Permanent Force	6.500,000	6,255,000	5.500,000	5,290,000
Printing and Stationery	70,000	85,000	85,000	70,000
Royal Military College	284,819	350,000	345,000	345.000
Salaries and Wages	331,463	225,000	225,000	250,000
Schools of Instruction	150,000	150,000	90,000	115,000
Topographic Survey		45,000	45,000	45,000
Training Areas	30.000	30,000	15.000	5,000
Transport and Freight	300,000	200,000	200,000	185,000
Warlike Stores		197,054	100,000	160,000
Total ¹	12,554,808	11,890,000	10,099,982	10,036,232
Civil Government	247,430	673,751	751,797	762,681
Grand Total	12,802,238	12,563,751	10,851,779	10.798.918

¹ A few contingent amounts complete the total.

2.—The Naval Service.

The Naval Service became part of the Department of National Defence by the National Defence Act, 1922. The senior officer is styled the Director of Naval Service, and is a member of the Defence Council. The Service consists of,—(1) Headquarters at Ottawa (Permanent), (2) The Royal Canadian Navy (Permanent), (3) Canadian Naval Reserve (Militia), (4) Canadian Naval Volunteer Reserve (Volunteer).

The Royal Canadian Navy (Permanent Service) consists of 2 destroyers and 4 trawlers on the active list, with the light cruiser Aurora and submarines CH 14 and CH 15 in reserve.

The Canadian Naval Reserve consists of 500 officers and seamen, recruited from seafaring personnel.

The Canadian Naval Volunteer Reserve consists of 70 officers and 930 men, organized as a division and distributed by detachments as follows:—Charlottetown, Quebec, Montreal, Ottawa, Toronto, Hamilton, Winnipeg, Saskatoon, Regina, Edmonton, Calgary and Vancouver.

The money voted by Parliament for naval service for the fiscal year ending March 31, 1924, was \$1,515,500.

² Department of National Defence.